Sunday, March 13, 2016

Apple iPhone 4 – Restart procedure – Reset procedure – Force quit applications – Erasing all contest – Recovery mode – DFU restore – Mobiles and smartphones repair and service

Category: Mobile sand smart Phones Repair ans Service 

Contents of this article 

  • How to restart iPhone 4
  • How to rest the iPhone 4
  • How to erase contents 
  • Recovery mode 




Apple iPhone 4 

Restart
A restart safely closes active apps and processes, preserving any data in the process, forces the device to close all open files, and powers off all hardware components.
A restart can quickly resolve a wide range of issues, including:
# App(s) unexpectedly quit.
# Battery life is shorter than expected.
# Hardware not performing as expected.
# Interface or apps are slow to respond.
# iTunes does not recognize or sync with the device.
Procedure:
1. Turn off the device: Press and hold the On/off button for a few seconds until the red “slide to power off” slider appears, and then slide the slider.
2. Turn on the device: Press and hold the On/off button until the Apple logo appears.
Reset
If the device is unresponsive and restart does not work, try to reset it.
IMPORTANT: Perform a reset ONLY if unable to do a restart.
Key Points:
# Reset only when you cannot restart the device normally.
# A reset removes all power for a fraction of a second to power off the device.
# A reset does not close open files or save data before the device powers off.
# A reset can potentially cause file or operating system damage, requiring a restore.
Procedure:
1. Press and hold both the On/off button and the Home button together for at least 10 seconds, until the Apple logo appears.
Force Quit an App
This procedure forces an app to quit that is not responding to input or doesn’t perform as expected. This is a good first troubleshooting step.
Procedure:
1. From the Home screen, double-click the Home button to display recently used apps.
2. Tap and hold the app until a red minus appears. Tap the red minus to quit the app.

3. Tap on the Home screen, above, to return.
Erase All Content and Settings
Erase is a quick way to get back to factory settings. It will delete all user content and settings, but it does not reinstall iOS like a restore will do.
WARNING: This will delete all user data and settings on the device.
Procedure:
1. From the Home screen choose Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
Restore
A restore completely erases the device and reinstalls a fresh copy of iOS.
WARNING: This will delete all user data and settings on the device.
Procedure:
1. Connect device to a computer running the latest version of iTunes.
2. In the left column under Devices, click on the device name, then go to the Summary panel and click the Restore button.
Recovery Mode Restore
If iTunes cannot detect the device, or a specific restore error appears, check cable connections.
If the issue persists, consider forcing the device into recovery mode.
WARNING: This will delete all user data and settings on the device.
If you cannot restore a device, even when using recovery mode, service or replacement may be the appropriate option.
Procedure:
Use the following steps to place a device into recovery mode. If the device is already in recovery mode, start at step 6.
1. Disconnect the Dock Connector to USB Cable from the device, but leave the other end of the cable connected to the computer’s USB port.
2. Turn off the device: Press and hold the On/off button for a few seconds until the red slider appears, then slide the slider. Wait for the device to turn off.
# If you cannot turn off the device using the slider, perform a Reset: press and hold the On/off button and Home button at the same time. When the device turns off, release the buttons. Press and hold the Home button while reconnecting the USB cable to the
device. Continue holding the Home button.
3. While pressing and holding the Home button, reconnect the USB cable to the device. When you reconnect the USB cable, the device should power on.
Note: If you see the “battery trap” image at left, let the device charge for at least 10 minutes to ensure the battery has some charge, and then repeat step 2.
4. Continue holding the Home button until you see the “Connect to iTunes” screen at left. When this screen appears you can release the Home button:
5. If necessary, open iTunes. You should see an alert that iTunes has detected a device in recovery mode.
6. Use iTunes to restore the device
DFU Restore
Device Firmware Update (DFU) Restore allows you to perform a restore when all other attempts
to restore the device fail. DFU Restore is only necessary if:
# the device won’t turn on
# the device won’t go into recovery mode
# the device won’t charge
WARNING: This will delete all user data and settings on the device.
Procedure:
Timing is critical--use a watch to time the steps below!
1. Charge the device for at least 5 minutes, then connect to iTunes. If the device is not detected, open iTunes and move to step 2.
2. Press Home + On/off  buttons together and hold down for 8 seconds and then release the On/off button.
3. Continue to press the Home button until you see the “Recovery Mode” message in iTunes, which may take up to 30 seconds.
Note: In DFU Mode the device’s screen is blank.
If you did not get the “Recovery Mode” message in iTunes or the device’s screen is not blank/ black, repeat all steps paying careful attention to your timing.
If you decide not to do a restore, you may be able to escape by resetting the device.